Excerpt from “Heirs of Honor” – Caught Off Guard


Waiting in the shadows was strangely confusing. I was trying not to be spotted by standing motionless, but I had to force myself to do what should have been instinctive. I kept catching myself preparing to walk out of the shadows, almost forgetting I was trying not to move. As time went on, I felt more disconnected from the situation, as I struggled to remain still. I was desperate, caught in a surrealistic jungle. I yearned to run in order to get rid of this confusion.

Two steps into the plan and my temper flared, as pain exploded from my foot the instant it touched the ground. I hopped about on one foot, fighting the fire in my other, thinking seriously about shoving a hand into my mouth to prevent my own scream of agony.

Balancing precariously by planting my ass against the tree, I managed to pull a large piece of glass out of the heel of my wounded foot. I almost lost it then by yelling, because I discovered an even greater depth to my stupidity; I was not only barefoot, but wearing only my skivvies.

My reaction was one of furious disbelief. If I waited for the most opportune moment, it would never come, and my rage would soon stun me into inaction. Without another thought, I ran into the darkened jungle and kept moving, anything to prevent the confused anger from catching me, to say nothing about those fucking gooks with flashlights.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Unbelievable? If you’ve ever had a nightmare you know that NOTHING is unbelievable!

Click image to purchase audio book
Click image to purchase audio book

HoH Cover (2) Click image to purchase E-book

Leave a Reply

